There’s a great article with video clips posted on MindShift today entitled “What Makes Educational Games Work?” The clips are of Constance Steinkuehler, a Senior Policy Analyst at the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President (phew…that’s a long official title!) speaking about issues in educational gaming.Lightbulb

I’m highlighting this article since it nicely addresses some of the questions surrounding gaming and education today. Everyone out there is going to have their own list of concerns, but in my mind, some of the biggest questions which remain unanswered are:

  1. Do learning and entertainment need to be mutually exclusive?
  2. Can educational games be fun?
  3. Do educational games run the risk of trivializing learning?

I’m encouraged by Steinkuehler’s belief that educational games are becoming more popular and that game developers are now more committed than ever to working on something they believe in. I’m also excited that some of the questions I posed above are beginning to be answered.

In my mind, the future of educational gaming is looking brighter than ever.

