Notebook

Seen any back-to-school ads lately?

If you own a TV, I’m betting the answer is yes. This means you’re also aware that several big-box stores like Walmart and Best Buy are selling spiral notebooks for around 10 cents each.

Yes you read that right– ten cents! Now where’s my wallet so I can stock up? It’s hard to let a deal like that go to waste.

If you’ve read this blog before, you know that I’m a computer kind of girl. I write on my computer. I game on my computer. I shop, do my banking, and do coursework on my computer. I was lucky enough to have a laptop for most of my undergraduate career, so I only had to suffer through hand-written lecture notes for two years, tops.

But every summer, when the back-to-school ads roll out on television, I feel my loyalty begin to wane. I browse flyers for local office supply stores, and spot excellent deals on pens, pencils, and leather-bound notebooks. And my fingers begin to itch for something more tangible and organic than the computer keyboard.

Call it natural instinct.

After all, writers have been using paper as their main medium since the second century. Before then, the ancient Egyptians pounded papyrus into paper-like sheets on which to record taxes. By the time the Printing Revolution hit Europe in the 15th century, paper was a mainstay in literature, science, the arts– you name it.

Not surprisingly, paper’s popularity has yet to slow down. Today, there are hundreds of different paper types to choose from. And although the traditional paper-making process has undergone major changes to make it more environmentally friendly, the way we consume paper today is not much different than it was for Shakespeare almost five hundred years ago.

In the twenty-first century, computers have revolutionized the way we record our ideas. But in the midst of our technology-obsessed planet, I like to sit back and enjoy a more traditional way of life now and then.

So when that back-to-school flyer hits my doorstep, I know I’m a goner for the 10 cent notebook. As it turns out, I have a weak spot for good deals, and an even weaker spot for good deals on writing supplies. There’s just something about the frugality of back-to-school sales that gives me a giddy little thrill. It’s like combining two of my favorite passions– writing and saving money– into one.

I’m always telling friends and family members how much I love technology and that I couldn’t live without it. But with deals this good, I’m going to have to make an exception.

Just don’t tell my laptop.

