Dijon mug

In 1694, Francesco Procopio del Coltelli established the Café Procope in Paris. The café quickly became a fashionable place for France’s intellectuals to meet and discuss their ideas. Some of the greatest Enlightenment thinkers of the day, including Condorcet and Diderot, sipped coffee at the Procope in the eighteenth century. According to legend, Voltaire consumed at least forty cups a day.

There’s something about coffee that makes it a natural fit for writers. Coffeehouses have served as places of inspiration for centuries now, and they’re often the place I gravitate towards when I’m looking to cure a case of writer’s block.

Over the past two years, I’ve also begun collecting coffee mugs, although I am rapidly running out of space in my cupboards. The picture at the top of the post is of my favorite mug, which I purchased two years ago in Dijon. I’ve yet to write a blog post without a cup of coffee in hand, whether I’m at home or at my local Starbucks. For me, coffee is comfort. It helps clear my mind, and (believe it or not) relax.

I know that many of you out there also drink coffee while you write. Do you have a favorite mug? Or is there a special coffeehouse you prefer to work in?

