The virtual world is a veritable smorgasbord of exciting culinary flavours, all ready for the picking. While I was questing last week in World of Warcraft, I noticed I had some Sweet Potato Bread in my inventory, and my mouth immediately began to water. What followed was a culinary quest to recreate this pixellated treat in my own humble kitchen. As you’ll notice by the pictures, I ended up with a pie, not a loaf of bread. But I still credit the virtual world with the inspiration for this delicious dish. 🙂

Most of the ingredients fit nicely into this pie dish, which I purchased brand-new for the occasion.

The ingredient list was quite simple. For the filling, I used a few autumn spices (ginger and cinnamon), a can of sweet potatoes, a can of condensed milk, two eggs, some vanilla, and some brown sugar. I actually only used two ingredients for the crust: shredded coconut and butter. The result was super tasty, and the crust actually supported the weighty filling quite well. The pie was baked for around 15 minutes at 400°F, and then another 30 minutes at 350°F. I added a few marshmallows on the top in the last 5 or so minutes of baking, which was just enough time for them to puff up and start to brown.

The crust before the filling was added.

The hot pie, fresh from the oven.

The first slice.

This culinary creation was a joy to make, from start to finish, and I’m sure that there are many more ideas for edible treats just waiting to be found in the gaming world. Suffice to say, I can’t wait to sink my teeth into more delicious dishes in the future. 🙂

